top of page
The Gifts  ( 9781786580757 )
Discover the extraordinary, luminous novel that everyone is talking about, perfect for fans of The Binding, The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock and The Doll Factory. It will take something extraordinary to show four women who they truly are . . . October 1840. A young woman staggers alone through a forest in Shropshire as a huge pair of impossible wings rip themselves from her shoulders.
Meanwhile, when rumours of a 'fallen angel' cause a frenzy across London, a surgeon desperate for fame and fortune finds himself in the grips of a dangerous obsession, one that will place the women he seeks in the most terrible danger . . .
THE GIFTS is the astonishing debut adult novel from the lauded author of BEARMOUTH. A gripping and ambitious book told through five different perspectives and set against the luminous backdrop of nineteenth century London, it explores science, nature and religion, enlightenment, the role of women in society and the dark danger of ambition. 
'A boldly feminist novel that lingers long after the last page' Susan Stokes Chapman, Sunday Times bestselling author of Pandora, 'Imaginative, extraordinary . . . Brimming with historical detail and beautifully written, the soulful prose soars' Daily Express, 'A stirring tale of female empowerment, full of vivid imagery and evocative settings' Observer, 'Extraordinary . . . For any who loved The Essex Serpent, this is one that will sing to your soul' Jackie Morris, The Lost Words
Liz Hyder

The Gifts ( 9781786580757 )

£8.99Price
    bottom of page